The agreement provides a harmonised legal framework to facilitate the movement of persons between these countries. While road transport is harmonised within the EU and is therefore based on common EU rules, road transport between the EU and third countries remains largely based on bilateral agreements between Member States and third countries. However, the EU has concluded agreements with some countries that take precedence over bilateral agreements. At an extraordinary meeting of the UNECE Working Party on Road Transport (SC.1) held in Geneva on 22 and 23 April 2010, the parties to the European Convention on the Work of International Road Transport Personnel (AETR) reached agreement on a six-month tolerance period for the introduction of the digital tachograph at European level, until December 31, 2010. As far as road transport is concerned, Community carriers and Swiss carriers are already free to carry out transport between a Member State and Switzerland and vice versa. The Agreement on the European Economic Area extends in principle the EU`s internal market to Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. As far as road transport is concerned, this means that these three countries apply EU road transport legislation, just like the EU Member States. Annex XIII to the EEA Agreement contains the acquis communautaire in the field of transport and is regularly updated by decision of the EEA Joint Committee. Germany France Italy Netherlands Sweden Belgium Czech Republic Spain Yugoslavia United Kingdom Austria Luxembourg Norway Denmark Romania Poland Portugal Russian Federation. . In paragraph 1(a), the following sentence is added: `A scheme which, by its interpretation and methods of installation, use and testing, complies with Council Regulation (EEC) No 3821/85 shall be considered to comply with the requirements of this Article`; Croatia Slovenia Slovakia Belarus Estonia Republic of Moldova Bosnia and Herzegovina Latvia Geneva 1970.

. .